Inside AMVCA 2018

Comparative to the American Oscar: This is how esteemed the AMVCA could be regarded. The much anticipated event held on Saturday, 1st September 2018, at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Victoria Island, Lagos. An initiative of Multichoice and Africa Magic, the 6th edition of the annual Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards treated key movie players across the continent to an evening of ambience, recognition and appraisal. Viewers were not left uncatered for; live broadcast on Africa Magic channels on DSTV and GOTV bridged the divide.

Indeed the award’s earlier nomination list stirred an uproar in the movie circles. Some movies were considered snubbed on, on the one hand while “some persons” which “some persons” expected to make the nomination list were never considered for nominations, on the other hand. And then there was a case of certain nominations in categories that didn’t quite fit. These alone set many on the edges of their seats. In anticipation of the twists and turns the selection process (through votes by the general public) would eventually take.

Hence the prayer:

Let the best man win…

After the preliminary red carpet event, paparazzi and all, the results were drawn! Interestingly, some movies got numerous nominations above others. There was Tatu with 12 nominations, Alter Ego with 10 nominations. Isoken was nominated 6 times and Banana Island Ghost got 4 nominations.

Finally the winners for all 27 categories were announced. Below is the list of winners. Peruse away!

Best Sound Editor: Tatu – Kolade Morakinyo and Pius Fatoke

Best Picture Editor: 18 Hours – Mark Maina

Best Lighting Designer Movie/TV Series: Tatu – Akpe Ododoru, Tunde Akinniyi

Best Cinematography Movies/TV series: Okafor’s Law – Yinka Edward

Best Costume/Designer Movie or TV Series: The Bridge – Ngozi Obasi and James Bessinone

Best Short Film/Online Video: Penance – Micheal Ama Psalmist’ Akinrogunde

Best Documentary: The Flesh Business – Dennis Wanjohi

Best Make Up Artist Movie/TV Series: Tatu – Thelma Ozy Smith, Hakeem Effect Onilogbo

Best Art Director: Lotanna – Tunji Afolayan

Best Soundtrack Movies/TV Series: Tatu – Evelle

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Swahili: Super Modo – Sarika Hemi Lhakani

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series – Hausa: Mansoor – Ali Nuhu

Best Indigenous Language Movies or TV Series – Yoruba: Etiko Onigedu – Femi Adebayo

Best Indigenous Language Movies or TV Series – Igbo: Bound – Lilian Afegbai

Best TV/Drama/Comedy series: This Is It – Dolapo Adeleke

Best Movie East Africa: 18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru

Best Movie West Africa: Isoken – Jade Osiberu

Best Movie Southern Africa: The Road to Sunrise – Shemu Joyah

Trail Blazer Award: Bisola Aiyeola

Industry Merit Award: Tunde Kelani

Best Writer Movie/TV Series: Alter Ego – Patrick Nnamani/Koye O/Moses Inwang

Best Supporting Actress: Lydia Forson – Isoken

Best Supporting Actor: Falz – New Money

Best Actress in a comedy and TV series: Nyce Wanueri – Auntie Boss

Best Actor in a comedy: Odunlade Adekola – A Million Baby

Best Actress in a Drama/TV Series: Omotola Jalade Ekeinde – Alter Ego

Best Actor in a Drama Series: Adjetey Anang  – Keteke

Best Director: Jade Osiberu – Isoken

Best Overall Movie: 18 Hours – Phoebe Ruguru


Check NerveFlo for more interesting Nollywood movies and other movies across Africa.



Leave a Reply